The “Unique” Metal Basket

I was looking for a bowl, or a basket….something cool to take to a local consignment shop for displaying my brooches and bracelets.

I found this:

tt_2

It was not cool. It was not attractive. When I got to the register, the gentleman said this:

“We have some really unique baskets here don’t we?”

“Yes, you do,” I replied.

But I don’t think we were using the word “unique” in the same way.

Let me assure you that it is possible to have buyers remorse before you actually buy an item. I just knew this item had the potential of being a great transformation…or an epic fail. So after carrying it around for a few minutes, I decided $2.00 was worth the risk. Now it has been staring at me for a few weeks,wanting to be transformed.

The first step was to remove the metal rings holding on the rope. If I couldn’t do this without damaging the box, I was pretty sure that this transformation would end up in the trash. With a pair of needle nose pliers and a husband, I was able to carefully remove the rings, which were spot welded on.

I painted over the peach with craft paint and added the blue fabric along the top edge. I attached one of my handmade fabric flower on the front (on top of the peach) and glued on the buttons. Lastly, I added the line of paint on the bottom with a small paint brush. And now, I have a cute metal basket to display my brooches and bracelets in!

Transformation: Success!

tt_1

IMG_1352

IMG_1363

About MixedMolly Designs

Any given day you may find me leisurely reading while enjoying an excessive amount of chocolate chip cookies or sipping iced tea before drifting into a quiet nap on my backyard hammock. But more likely you'll find me flirting with my husband, corralling, carting or chasing my four awesome children, and up to my developing forehead wrinkles in dishes or laundry...or both.

Posted on January 31, 2012, in DIY, Recycle, Transformation Tuesday and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

