Introducing Transformation Tuesday

I’ve had the idea for a while now, and I’ve decided to make it official. On Tuesday’s I will be recycling, up-cycling, re-purposing, painting, editing, cutting, pasting, or any other number of things. In one word, transforming.

I’ll be starting this series with the transformation of the necklace pictured below.

#1 Before

I started by removing the heart pendant. I created a flower using fabric, ribbon and two vintage buttons. Once I decided where I wanted to place the flower, I warmed up my trusty hot glue gun and fired away. I unhooked the shortest chain from the same side that I wanted to place the flower. I gathered the short chain, along with the longest chain up by the flower and allowed them to hang down underneath. I glued them all to the back of the flower and covered it with black ribbon. I ended up with a necklace that now looks like this.

#1 After

I was able to complete this project in about 15 minutes and I ended up with a fabulous new necklace.

For tutorials on making your own fabric flowers, check out these ten at Skip to My Lou.

You can also glue a clip to the back of the flower to transform any beaded necklace you have by simply clipping on a flower. I wanted to rearrange the chains on this one, so I went with glue and ribbon instead of a clip.

Have other ideas for transformations you’d like to see? Want to transform something of your own and write a post about it?  I’d love to hear your ideas! Leave me a comment below or contact me by email.

#1 Transformation

Somewhat Simple

These Peas Taste Funny

About MixedMolly Designs

Any given day you may find me leisurely reading while enjoying an excessive amount of chocolate chip cookies or sipping iced tea before drifting into a quiet nap on my backyard hammock. But more likely you'll find me flirting with my husband, corralling, carting or chasing my four awesome children, and up to my developing forehead wrinkles in dishes or laundry...or both.

Posted on January 24, 2012, in DIY, Recycle, Transformation Tuesday and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Wow Molly!!! I am impressed….that is a beautiful transformation!

  2. Oooh, that turned out really nice. I liked the before necklaces but the after is stunning. Would love for you to share it at our Link It Up Thursday party. http://thesepeastastefunny.blogspot.com/2012/01/link-it-up-thursday-4.html

  3. Wow! Your new necklace is amazing. LOVE it. Thanks so much for sharing at Link It Up Thursday.

Leave a Reply

